Sensorimotor stage is the first of the stages in Piaget’s theory of cognitive development

Sensorimotor stage is the first of the stages in Piaget’s theory of cognitive development. From birth to 2 years old. It is a fast cognitive growth stage, an infant develops an understanding of everything using their action and senses and they also develop understanding through trial and error for example a child can have tantrums they get the reaction from the environment and they will learn from that through their senses slowly and to avoid doing that kind behaviour the more they get older. An infant can really be egocentric because they have no understanding of the world besides of what they think. The main development in this stage is the understanding that the objects exist. That’s achievement of object permanence, which transitions the child to the next stage of the development, (pre-operational).

The pre-operational stage is the second stage in Piaget’s theory of cognitive development. Age from 2 to 7 years old. During this stage, a child learns new skill of language during a play imitating their parents. Children imitate what they see because they’re not in that stage to use cognitive development. The child at this stage is pre (before) operations. This means a child cannot use their sense or to transform, or bring together something or separate ideas. A child’s development is gained through experiences in the world by adaption and towards (concrete) stage where they can use their logic thoughts. At the end of this stage, children can mentally show events and objects (the semiotic function), and join in symbolic play.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

The concrete operational stage is the third stage of Piaget’s theory of cognitive development. Age from 7 to 11 years old and is characterised by the development of organised and theory thinking. Piaget’s considered the concrete stage a big changing point in the child’s cognitive development because the child is now mature enough to use to use logic or operational thoughts through physical objects. Children learn the abilities from conservation because they can understand that a quantity stays the same even if it changes. The children still can figure out problems the logical fashion way, but they can’t think abstractly or hypothetical.

The formal operational stage is the fourth stage in Piaget’s theory cognitive development. Age from 12 to adulthood. Adolescents enter this age, they can gain the ability to think abstractly and manage to manipulate ideas in their heads, without relying on concrete manipulation. Both genders can do math calculations and think creative and use abstract reasoning. A child who draws a picture or uses objects are still in the concrete operational stage, and children who can reason the answer in their heads are using formal operational thinking. Hypothetico deductive reasoning is the skill to think scientifically through hypothetically or predicting.


I'm Dianna!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out