Abraham person can go on and fulfill the next

Abraham Maslow was the
founding father of what is called humanism, or humanistic psychology. Humanism
is a theory that stresses the potential of all humans, (Berger, 2016, pp. 32)
and is typically called the third force in psychology, after psychoanalysis and
behaviorism, as Maslow stated in 1968 (McLeod, 2015). Best known for creating
Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, Maslow believed that all people – no matter what
their gender, culture, or background – have the same basic needs and drives.
These needs and drives are as follows: Physiological, safety, love, esteem, and
self-actualization (Berger, 2016, pp. 32). Maslow states that some needs take
precedence over others, like human’s most basic need for physical survival, and
this will motivate a person’s behavior. Once that level of need is met, then a
person can go on and fulfill the next need.

            Maslow, in 1987, listed the criteria
needed to complete each stage of the original hierarchy, as Maslow later
revised this hierarchy according to new research conducted. The first, and most
basic need is physiological, which are things that a person needs to live a
basic life. For instance, to fulfill this need, a person needs air, food,
drink, shelter, warmth, and sleep. To fulfill the need for safety, a person
protection from the elements, security, order, law, stability, and freedom from
fear; the need to be protected and defended. The next need on the hierarchy is
love and belonging, and fulfilling this need, a person must be loved and
appreciated as a partner, family member, and part of a group. This need also
includes friendship, intimacy, trust and acceptance, and giving and receiving
affection and love. Following this need is the needs of the esteem, which
Maslow classifies as two categories: esteem for oneself and desire for
reputation or respect from others. Esteem for oneself includes dignity, achievement,
master and independence, while the desire for respect or reputation may go
along with a person’s prestige or status. The final stage in the Hierarchy of
Needs is self- actualization. This need is the desire to become the most that
one can be, and is fulfilled by realizing personal potential, self-fulfillment,
seeking personal growth (McLeod, 2017).

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

As aforementioned,
Maslow later proposed that the hierarchy may not be as rigid as first implied,
and the order of needs fulfilled and met may be flexible based on a person’s
circumstances. Unlike Sigmund Freud, who focused on what people do and “what
goes wrong with people,” (McLeod, 2017) Maslow focuses on “what goes right”
(McLeod, 2017). Maslow states that human motivation is based on personal growth
and making changes, and this research is later continued with the work of
humanistic psychologist Carl Rodgers.



I'm Dianna!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out